The new all-access membership with HFMA offers many benefits.  Prime amongst these is that certifications for all-access members are FREE.

HFMA offers a variety of certifications for all levels of professionals.  These include:

  • Certified Healthcare Financial Professional (CHFP)
  • Certified Specialist Accounting & Finance (CSAF)
  • Certified Revenue Cycle Representative (CRCR)
  • Certified Specialist Business Intelligence (CSBI)
  • Certified Specialist Physician Practice Management (CSPPM)
  • Certified Specialist Managed Care (CSMC)
  • Certified Inpatient Coding Auditor (CICA)


The oldest and arguably the most recognized of these is the Certified Healthcare Financial Professional (CHFP) designation.  Becoming CHFP certified is much less complicated than in the past.  

There are two on-line modules that must be passed in order to earn the CHFP designation.  The two modules don't necessarily measure your experience in the industry.  The focus is on the ability to learn, not necessarily what you already know.  The first module is in a more traditional study material format with an exam at the end.  The second module is a series of case studies that is intended to take what you learned in the first module and test your ability to apply that knowledge.  More information is available at www.hfmd.org/chfp

Once you successfully become a CHFP, there is a continuing education requirement of 60 hours within a three-year period.

These 60 hours need to be related to one of the following six areas:

  • Revenue Cycle
  • Healthcare Environment
  • Financial Accounting
  • Financial Management
  • Quality Monitoring 
  • Leadership


The CHFP designation is the only HFMA certification that can lead to the Fellow of HFMA (FHFMA) designation.  Becoming a CHFP should be considered the first step in becoming a FHFMA.  In addition to being a member of HFMA for five years and holding a college degree, there is a volunteer requirement.

The volunteer requirement is, let us say, anything but onerous.  For the required two founders points in two consecutive years, you can join a committee.  For helping out in a committee in two consecutive years, you will meet the volunteer requirement.  There is no additional fee for all-access members.  More information and the application can be found at www.hfma.org/fhfma

Specialists Certifications such as Certified Revenue Cycle Representative (CRCR), Certified Inpatient Coding Auditor (CICA), and the other certified specialists designations (CSxx) provide a very narrow and in-depth focus on a particular area.  These certifications are available by passing a comprehensive exam at the end of an on-line module with multiple sections of information covering the topic.  These are free to all-access members.

For the specialist certifications, you are required to re-certify every two years via a shorter exam with the training material for the re-certification provided.  There is no additional charge for all-access members.  More information on the specialist certifications can be found at www.hfma.org/career-development/certifications.html

Become certified for yourself.  What you learn from the process of preparing for the certifications, along with your continuing education, can do nothing but aid in your self-confidence in your chosen career.


 If you have further questions, please contact our chapter certification contact Linker Mills at [email protected] or 443-777-7949.